Notices

Dumpvales!

Search this Thread

Old 02 August 2012, 12:11 AM
Aldo1986
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dumpvales!

I bought my first Scooby yesterday! I have a recirculating valve in it I want to get a dumpvalve what is the best to buy ior should I keep what I have on it does the dumpvalve affect your engine in anyway sorry I'm a novice at this!
Old 02 August 2012, 12:25 AM
360ste
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

If you fit a Vent To Atmosphere (VTA) dump valve it will upset the fuelling. The reason is that the air drawn into the engine is measured by the Mass Air Flowmeter (MAF), so during driving with the OE dumpvalve the engine knows how much air has been drawn in so injects the required amount of fuel. When you fit either a dual port or a VTA dumpvalve the ECU thinks from the MAF X amount of air is drawn in and injects the correct fuel. But due to a closing of the throttle the VTA has dumped Y amount of air to atmosphere thus giving a rich mixture, this can lead to lumpy idle and poor running. On my bug I run a dual port as my NON-OE ECU runs a Manifold Air Pressure switch. To add if you are thinking of fitting an induction kit these can F up the MAF sensor unless you use a decent cold air intake system that puts the filter inside the front wing. On a newage the OE air intake system fitted with a performance airfilter is good for 400 bhp I am not sure on this regarding the Classics.

Where abouts in Scotland are you?
Old 02 August 2012, 08:24 AM
lordharding
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Loads of threads on this which has been going on since time has begun

General advice of the oldies
Don't get a dump valve

Lots of running problems as above and people will laugh at you for going

pppSsSttt
Old 02 August 2012, 09:58 AM
Aldo1986
Scooby Newbie