Notices

Power steering problems?

Search this Thread

Old 03 January 2011, 10:03 PM
buzball
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power steering problems?

Hello newbie here with his first post maybe you can help?

Got a 02 scooby sti and the power steering has gone all funny on me, from cold it dont work properly on stand still the belt spins but the pulley dont turn properly and squiels.

If you rev it or move its pefect

Once warm its fine

Lastly the belt is in bad condition so im hoping its the belt could it be? im changing it tommorow!!

Thanks
Old 03 January 2011, 10:29 PM
f8rdy
Scooby Regular

Most likely, if its screeching then its because the belt is too slack, if its wrecked then it wont tighten up well anyway. I had the same thing when i first got mine too. You can be pretty sure that the belt will resolve it.
Old 03 January 2011, 10:35 PM
buzball
Scooby Regular

Thanks mate il give it a go tommorow
Old 04 January 2011, 04:46 PM
obey1
Scooby Regular

Default powersteering

had a problem with mine on a my95 classic changed the pump but not the belt and still squealed, so went and bought a belt and it worked
this may give you some ideas
just something i found regarding powersteering pump

When the engine is running and you try to turn the steering, you found it turns but not as easy as it should. As you turn, you hear squeling sound but when you release the steering, the squeling stops.

The cause would most probably be the power steering belt is slipping. On most cars, power steering gets its power from the engine crankshaft. The crankshaft then drives a fan belt which will turn the power steering pump pulley. Hydraulic pressure from the pump will be produced and is used to power the steering gear or the steering rack and pinion.

On some cars it may also power the brakes. The fan belt must be at the right size, in good condition and properly adjusted to in order for the pump to work properly.