Notices

Newbie with Blobeye Wrx S/Wagon seeking general maintenance advice.

Search this Thread

Old 19 October 2010, 09:07 AM
Harry Kovert
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with Blobeye Wrx S/Wagon seeking general maintenance advice.

Good morning all,

As the thread title states I'm a newbie who has recently aquired an 02 Blobeye Model Wrx Station Wagon.

I'm hoping some of you may be able to help in suggesting some tips concerning general maintenace such as how often do you check the oil, how often do you have your cars serviced and anything you think may help a very wet behind the ears new scoobie owner.

Thanks in advance,

Harry
Old 19 October 2010, 09:26 AM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome
Just to clarify what you have, blobeye or bugeye 2002 model (its just that blobs are 2003 cars and the earliest plate you normally see them on is a 52).
Maintenance is the same though, 10k or 1 year, check the oil every 1k miles or when your going on a long journey (they shouldnt drink the stuff), different services vary in price from 100 quid to 800 (depends where you go, speciallists are normally cheaper than dealers, but like dealers, you have to find a good one ) and its recommended to do cambelts on time.

Tony
Old 19 October 2010, 09:34 AM
Stevesbluewrx
Scooby Regular

Hello and welcome matey,

Oil checks I try and do every week or failing that every other week. Some people have there own methods of checking. I tend to check the oil from cold then start the car and leave it ticking over for a few mins then let the oil go back down to sump then re-check the oil.

Water levels I check the same as oil etc.

For servicing as long as you have the main ones up to date etc (timing belt etc) then just do the normal service plans .i.e once a year. If however you modify the car etc then I tend to change the following
my oil every 3k
Fuel Filter every 10k
Plugs every 10k