Notices

Tips on removing inlet manifold

Search this Thread

Old 19 June 2010, 06:29 PM
dougisaacs
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tips on removing inlet manifold

I think I need to remove my inlet manifold on my MY2000 UK turbo as I've managed to snap the bolt holding the knock sensor, while trying to remove said sensor. The access to the bolt is poor so I'm guessing the manifold needs to come off.

I've never done one of these before, any tips anyone? Also any tips on removing the snapped bolt from the block!?
Old 19 June 2010, 07:22 PM
markjmd
Scooby Regular

Received 70 Likes on 50 Posts

Were you taking the manifold off anyway to do some other work on it? If you weren't and you're just trying to figure out how to re-attach the knock sensor, there are probably other unused threaded mount points on top of the block which will serve just as well. It really doesn't need to go back on the exact same spot as before, so long as it's bolted down square and tightened to around 20Nm.
Old 19 June 2010, 11:26 PM
Minjeeta
Scooby Regular

depends. Wheres the bolt sheared? Access wasnt poor enough for ye no tae get into it and fck the bolt. (kiddin son)

Best puttin a picture on to get better help mate. Bolted anywhere at 20Nm isn't really helpful to ye. (24Nm)

Knock senors critical though, so i'd get it done right mate.
Old 20 June 2010, 12:26 AM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Grief, how on earth have you managed to snap the bolt while removing the old sensor? It should only be tightened to 24-odd Nm, as above.

There shouldn't be any need to remove the manifold under normal circumstances. You can get to the sensor without even removing the intercooler if you have a 3/8 socket on a long wobble extension (and some blu-tack to hold the bolt into the socket).