Notices

Stuff I need to no: Intake and 'zaust.

Search this Thread

Old 10 April 2010, 08:07 PM
tony de wonderful
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stuff I need to no: Intake and 'zaust.

Ok so I have a ver 5 Sti but I'm new to Scoobs.

So my car is stock but I want to free up the air flow.

Intake: Should I just put an K&N filter in the existing intake or go to a POD? Which offers less restriction? Will the later screw up the flow sensor even if done properly?

'Zaust: I want a cat so what else do I need? Can I get a 3" dump, then Cat, then rest of the 'zaust? Or is the Cat intergral to the dump pipe? What are my options? I don't want a droney 'zaust making a racket at idle. I've got HKS silent high-power on my skyline but they don't call it Hi-kost-Spec for nothing. The HKS has a mid-muffler.

Oh yeah do I need a new fuel pump? Will do the ECU/re-map at some point.

What about BOV's? Do they offer any advantage on a lightly tuned Scoob? I know on Skylines the existing return flow valve is good until crazy power levels so only people wanting a cool sound (in their own mind ) go for BOV's.

Last edited by tony de wonderful; 10 April 2010 at 08:10 PM.
Old 10 April 2010, 08:23 PM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by tony de wonderful
Ok so I have a ver 5 Sti but I'm new to Scoobs.

So my car is stock but I want to free up the air flow.
Inherent in that is an assumption that the airflow is "not free" at the moment.

Intake: Should I just put an K&N filter in the existing intake or go to a POD?
The former, unless you're talking about a significant package of mods designed to up the power up around or beyond 400bhp.

Will the later screw up the flow sensor even if done properly?