Classic Boost Spike

Search this Thread

Old 28 March 2010, 07:03 PM
SteveMy96wrx
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Classic Boost Spike

Hi Folks,

I've a 96 pre face lift WRX wagon with 38k on the clock and no mods other than a scooby ecu chip and a K&N Hybrid panel. Story so far ....

Decided to give the wagon a treat and did all fluids, spark plugs, the air filter and oil filter. After the service the car was running really sweet - clean pull right up to the red-line in all gears.

So, then came the scoobyecu chip supplied by Major Sarcasm from this site. Firstly I'd like to state I've no issue with the chip, and the suppliers! They've been extremely helpful and after the problems outlined below even went as far as doing a bespoke map on the chip, decreasing the fueling I think though am not sure, I'm no mapping expert!

So the history is I fitted the first chip and took her for a run, it was very cold which I know aggravates boost problems because of the density of the air ...
Anyway, the car was hitting a fuel cut when boosting under load - say from 30 up in third it would fuel cut at mid revs, there was also a boost surge happening at 4.5-5k in first.

I told Major Sarcasm about it and even though they had no other reported problems from the same map on other TD04's they were good enough to replace the chip with a slightly more conservative map as mentioned.

So, in it went and frustratingly, although the fuel cut had stopped, the surge at 4.5k in first is very much still there.

So, I've cleaned the boost solenoid, had the vacuum hoses off and cleaned them, they were free of residue and in good nick.

There's a bit of oil around the connector hose going from the resonator box to the turbo but not very much at all.

So that's what I'm trying to diagnose - why the boost surge is happening, and hopefully if I can cure it I'll be able to put the original more aggressive chip back in, again thanks Major for letting me hold on to it!