Timing question

Search this Thread

Old 16 March 2010, 01:41 PM
konceppt
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing question

Hi all,
I am fitting a new aircon belt tensioner today but I am not sure about something.
The old tensioner shredded and the belt wore a hole in the casing behind it.
I started to take it off but the case splits in half.the casing I need to repair is the one directly behind the pulley that drives the alternator and I think the power steering pump.
My question as I turn the 22mm nut to remove that lower pulley I can see the timing belt and pulleys turning also,
so if I take the pulley off to repair the casing,will I have to reset the timing?
I have never done this before and I don't want to damage the car but it needs to be repaired to stop **** and rain getting into that timing belt casing.
Old 16 March 2010, 01:45 PM
konceppt
Scooby Regular

Here's the pulley I need to remove to finish the temporary repair as the hole continues behind the pulley
Old 16 March 2010, 02:09 PM
JohnD
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by konceppt
Hi all,
I am fitting a new aircon belt tensioner today but I am not sure about something.
My question as I turn the 22mm nut to remove that lower pulley I can see the timing belt and pulleys turning also,
so if I take the pulley off to repair the casing,will I have to reset the timing?
I have never done this before and I don't want to damage the car but it needs to be repaired to stop **** and rain getting into that timing belt casing.
No. You are turning the crankshaft which, of course, drives the timing belt. If you remove the pulley you will not disturb the timing belt. The bolt is very tight, so you will need to lock the pulley to stop the crankshaft from turning and use an extension on the socket arm.