Notices

Replacing wrx engine for sti '52 plate car.

Search this Thread

Old 20 October 2009, 01:39 PM
eightballboy
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing wrx engine for sti '52 plate car.

Hi all
(Sorry if this is confusing, i'm new to subaru's and not exactly a car technical expert!!)

I recently bought a 52 plate wrx and after couple of months the engine blew. A con rod/piston went through the block.

I want to change the block for an sti one with forged rods/pistons but as i understand this would mean that i would have to replace the headers etc as the sti's have VVT.

So i beleive i would be better of replacing the whole engine??? I know i will have to change some wiring in the car to adjust for the VVT.

I also want to modify the car a bit so that i end up with a decent example which is pretty fast

I have been offered a complete sti engine with ecu,turbo manifold injectors etc for about £2000 which seems to be a fair cost?
But i have also seen a sti8 spec C jdm engine for £3000 with twin scroll turbo but no ECU. Is this engine worth the extra money and extra cost for the ECU etc??

Can i put either of these engines into my car with the current gearbox and clutch until such time as i can afford to replace them??

If i got the standard sti engine i would look to replace the turbo for a bigger one, iis a twin scroll turbo the way to go and is it easy to convert the the engine/manifold to allow for this??

I know this is a lot of questions and perhaps confusing but any advice/assistance really would be greatly appreciated. I love scoobies and want to have my own cool example

( i would like something performace wise on par with lichfield type 25 - i think there was a 2.0 one)

Thanks
George
Old 20 October 2009, 04:59 PM
eightballboy
Scooby Newbie

*BUMP*
Old 21 October 2009, 09:35 AM
eightballboy
Scooby Newbie

Bump
Old 21 October 2009, 10:46 AM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts