Fuel cut/boost spike issue

Search this Thread

Old 22 February 2009, 07:33 PM
kwalker705
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel cut/boost spike issue

Hello folks.

I'm new to the world of subarus as I have just got my hands on a 93 WRX.

I'm looking for a little advice so I'll tell you what i can but please dont rip me to pieces if I'm asking a daft question.

Right . The car has some basic mods and has been remapped to run 17psi of boost. But whats happening is. when I accelerate nice and gently or feed the power in smoothly the car pulls well and boosts properly with no problems. But when I mash the throttle pedal into the floor the car boosts then dies(sort of limp mode) then the boost comes back on again and everythings fine.

My suspision is that the boost is spiking and its hitting its fuel cut/safety limit and putting the car into limp mode .

Basically i want to know if anyone can confirm this is a pretty good explanation of whats happening I also want to know the best way to screw the boost down. Is it by a remap ?? Fitting a boost controller ??? or a bleed valve ??? I'm used to honda turbos and nissan silvias. Not sure of the prefered/best method on imprezas.

Or if someone else has a suspicion it may be another problem please come forward and advise. Any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks for looking
Old 22 February 2009, 07:52 PM
Glowplug
Scooby Regular

Well firstly your ECU cannot be remapped as standard (u8 i think as standard), it will require an aftermarket ECU to allow mapping, if it is an aftermarket then you need to find out what it is.
If it is a OE item then it maybe 'chipped' or have a 'piggy back' type device fitted.
The ECU is located in the passenger side footwell (lift carpet and remove kick plate) take a look if you already haven't and see what you've got!