Hoping for a response..... New to scoobies part 2

Search this Thread

Old 14 January 2008, 08:50 PM
RJM25R
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hoping for a response..... New to scoobies part 2

Hi all,

I'm new to scoobies and I'd like some advice on tuning.

I've bought a 2000 x plate classic turbo, and I'd like to go up to 280bhp or somewhere near. I'm gonna take it to prosport near manchester to get them to check it's current output and make sure it's up to standard, but I'd like a pointer to where I should start my journey up the BHP river and how much 280bhp will cost, and if I'm being too ambitious???

Cheers

Old 14 January 2008, 08:53 PM
mike799
Scooby Regular

full decat exhaust,good panel filter,remap,should see you near 280
Old 14 January 2008, 09:17 PM
RJM25R
Scooby Regular

Cheers! Any recommendations????
Old 15 January 2008, 09:41 AM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by RJM25R
Cheers! Any recommendations????
Backbox, Decat centre section (resonated) What brand is up to you, have a listen to several and see what you like. H&S produce proven Scooby exhaust systems), Ninja sports cat DP (avoids hassles with the MOT and insurance etc). If you have aspirations much above 350bhp eventually, you're better off getting a 3inch system. If you'll be happy with up to that figure stick with 2.5 inch for the best response. Simota panel filter. Remap by someone good, who depends on your location.

Approx cost assuming you buy new, cicra £1200ish.
Old 15 January 2008, 11:20 AM
The rookie
Scooby Regular

Just like to add that strictly ANY exhaust change is not legal under construction and use regs, even more so if you change or remove the catalyst (sportscats are not street legal despite what some sellers claim...), this is not a lecture, I just like to be sure your informed of the legal position (I'm running a centre decat and non stnd rear box, so I am NOT preaching!)

Simon
Old 15 January 2008, 01:38 PM
jaytc2003
Scooby Regular