Notices

Oil pump question on STi Type R.

Search this Thread

Old 12 October 2007, 05:38 PM
Az Sti Type R
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil pump question on STi Type R.

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in the Scooby world and have just been converted from being a hardcore Honda enthusiast. (well, still am but fancied a change and a new challenge so to speak!)

I'm sure this question has come up countless times before but after spending near on an hour with the search function my question wasn't really answered.....

I've just put a deposit down on a fresh import V4 STi Type R its currently on 70 odd thousand kilometers (48k miles it works out to) and its mint.

The question I want to know is- Is it advisible to change the oil pump to an 'uprated' pump? I have a friend who owned a JDM WRX and the pump failed on his car causing a LOT of damage as it was at high speed, and he's not to only one I know who has experienced the same, so this slightly worries me obviously. My friend ended up getting the engine re-built and fitted a new Graham Goode oil pump, should I do the same? or is the STi engine equipt with a better pump than the WRX?

I'm sorry if this is a regular question, but like I say, I couldn't find anything which answered my questions.

Many thanks,

Az.
Old 12 October 2007, 07:17 PM
stockcar
Scooby Regular

Received 379 Likes on 301 Posts

the pumps are all baiscially the same.............as for an 'uprated' pump then technically no they aren't - they are modified though to alleviate a potential stiction issue with the pressure relief plunger

personally for a std'ish car then either will suffice, new std or modified

alyn
Old 13 October 2007, 06:59 AM
Az Sti Type R
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the reply mate.

Yeah thats exactly as I thought with the term 'uprated' being more of a modified standard item.

So basically, it is recommended to change the pump then to be on the safe side?
Old 13 October 2007, 07:24 AM
T5OLF
Scooby Regular