Notices

Spun Bearings?

Search this Thread

Old 08 August 2007, 05:37 AM
Bobbok
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spun Bearings?

Alright, I'm new to Subarus. I took my month old 2005 WRX wagon out to the track on sunday with a few guys from work. On my second session, going into turn one, I downshifted about a second too early. It sent the RPM's to about 8500 (when I glanced down, it was dropping below 8k). When I was accelerating out of turn two, I noticed a signifigant drop in power. Then my instructor and I noticed a ticking. I babied it the rest of the way around the track and took the exit road. About 20 feet from the end, it died.

I checked the oil and saw a VERY fine sparkle. We pushed it back to the pits and started troubleshooting. I could still turn the motor pretty easily with the crankshaft bolt. There was one spot where it seemed unusually stiff. Unfortunately, I didn't know the other two guys there with Sube's and was stuck.

After towing back to our shop, I drained the oil and tried to strain it. Nothing would catch and of the sparkles. It was almost like a powder...

I went to drain the coolant (in preparation of pulling the engine) and realized that I needed to pull the headers. On the driver's side, I noticed some oil on the head to manifold gasket. Not good.

About this time, I noticed the time and decided to go home (I have been catching a lot of flack for being late, and I NEED a job to pay for this). This is where I am...

I had a few people tell me that it sounds like I spun a rod bearing. One person told me that it could be a valve. I even heard that it could be a valve-guide seal... I figured that I would ask people that know these cars... Anyone ever go through this? I'm an average joe who doesn't want to yank everything apart if I don't have to...