Notices

Help threading with a tap and die - engineering help needed!

Search this Thread

Old 03 February 2007, 07:00 PM
silent running
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help threading with a tap and die - engineering help needed!

I'm just trying to run a thread up the outside of my STi air temp sensor and so I can then tap my intercooler for it. One slight problem I've never done it before and the sizes that I've got hold of are the exact wrong ones LOL

The OD of the bit of the sensor that I need to thread, which is plastic btw, is 12.5mm, so roughly half an inch. The biggest die I have is an M12 x 1.75 which will carve huge swathes of plastic off it, by the looks of it a couple of mm off all the way round.

Hmmm, I thought, seeing as it's roughly half an inch what about a 1/2 inch die of some kind, but of course it turns out that imperial thread sizes are totally on a different planet. Weirdly the closest that I can look up that might work is 1/4 inch BSP. Can anyone confirm that if I could get hold of a 1/4 BSP tap/die, that this would thread my 12.5mm plastic sensor nicely, and not too deep, i.e no deeper than say 0.5mm into the plastic, because otherwise it starts to actually turn it down like a lathe would!

The other thing is, I thought at first I'd want a fine thread pitch, because the metal of the intercooler is only a few mm thick so I want as much thread in there as possible. But then I thought that actually to allow the plastic to show a clear, strong thread, maybe I should go coarse instead?

Help!
Old 03 February 2007, 07:03 PM
Scott.T
Scooby Regular

have a look here : NAMRICK : TAPS & DIES
Old 03 February 2007, 07:26 PM
RAPID RABBIT
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

TAP 9/16 BSF
DRILL 12.7-0.5000-1/2
Might Help......................
Old 03 February 2007, 08:26 PM
ZEN Performance
Former Sponsor