Notices

MY94 WRX problems with matrix,ecu, grounding etc etc etc etc etc..!! PLEASE HELP ME!

Search this Thread

Old 30 October 2006, 11:18 AM
trickywickywoo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MY94 WRX problems with matrix,ecu, grounding etc etc etc etc etc..!! PLEASE HELP ME!

I hope someone can help me before I resort to a box of matches a can of petrol and a taxi to the EVO garage!

My heater matrix went on my MY94 imported wrx so I decided to replace it myself; I have little or no knowledge of mechanics!

Took me about 19hrs but eventually I did it, since then I have had few associated problems, when I go to go round a corner (not always) the engine cuts out! I searched past forums and found that this could be a grounding problem, so I put in various extra grounding cables but this still happens.

Also there is a loud whirring noise coming from the turbo area, the dump valve doesn’t sound as nice as it used to and the car doesn’t seem as quick in the higher gears.

Boost gauge is all over the shop, this may be because I was a bit rough with it when mounting it in the dash, could have damaged it?

I cleaned out the waste gate solenoid with brake cleaner and cleaned the dump valve

As the car was disconnected from the battery for about a week the ecu would have reset, but I did a manual reset using the green / black cables and it showed as having no faults.

Could the problems im having be because I reset the ecu and its just learning everything again before it performs as normal?

My next plan of attack would be a new MAF sensor, as I read that they can go over time and the ecu learns to get over it, to an extent, and as the ecu has been reset it will have forgotten this issue!

please help me im beginning to loose faith, this Impreza has been the most fun car I have ever had and don’t want to give up on it just yet!

Oh, nearly forgot, the rear driver’s side indicator no longer works; it’s not the bulb!

Thanks!

Old 30 October 2006, 07:17 PM