Multiple Tuning Questions

Search this Thread

Old 20 July 2006, 01:13 PM
jobster
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Multiple Tuning Questions

Hi,

I am new to Imprezas and tuning them and could do with advice re quite a few things........

I have a 96 Import WRX, totally standard apart from Brembos and a Revolution decat exhaust. I want to do some mild additional tinkering/tuning without blowing a fortune. Also I'd like to do the tuning and mapping myself, its more an educational journey of discover rather than a 'see how fast my car goes' exercise I'm after, hence the not blow a fortune comment (cos chances are i might 'blow' everything,lol)

The first things I was thinking of are, FMIC, headers, induction. To control all these I was thinking of using an Apexi Power FC with commander.

Question 1
Can the Power Fc be mapped properly/well with the commander? (using an AVCR or similar)

Question 2
Does the Power FC use the MAF to measure airflow or can this be dispensed with?

Question 3
I believe my current lambda sensor is dying/dead, should I replace with a wideband sensor? Where are both best sourced from?

Question 4
Will I be able to map/measure the fueling accurately with a decent afr meter?

Question 5
What is the capabilty of the TD05 turbo? Are there any decent upgrades available for 90 inlet systems and what are their capabilities?

Question 6
Injectors,FPRs, pumps etc I have taken into consideration obviously but have i missed anything else obvious?

Sorry for so many questions thought it best to do them all in one thread so as not to take over the whole forum ;-)

If you can answer any or all, your help and advice is much appreciated

Cheers

JJ
Old 20 July 2006, 01:15 PM
jobster
Scooby Newbie

Sorry

Question 7
It still has speedo/odo clocks in kph, I have seen some lovely neon replacements ;-) but more importantly how do I get rid of the speed limiter it has at approx 110ish mph?
Old 20 July 2006, 01:50 PM
AndrewC
Scooby Regular