Numpty exhaust question

Search this Thread

Old 13 February 2006, 10:59 PM
danno_el_mano
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Numpty exhaust question

New to all this so bear with me...

Got a Jap MY94 WRX wagon with a blowing exhaust. Kwikfit won't touch it but looked at it and said the 'cat is cracked'.

So I'm guessing I need a new downpipe and cat. Correct?

I want minimal fuss and bother - car is totally standard - and keep costs to a minimum. Any point going for a de-cat or is this going to raise MOT and re-map issues? £175ish seems to be going rate for aftermarket downpipes, if I'm looking at the right thing. Was quoted £450 for a 'free-flow cat' downpipe and £400ish for OE.

One thing that was suggested to me was that with everyone rushing to fit de-cat systems there must be tons of OE systems going into skips. If that's the case and it would fit a Jap car (I have no idea about the various compatibility issues here ... like I say, I'm a newbie) I'll gladly take such a thing of someone's hands.

Then again, if a de-cat is cheaper and can be made MOT friendly easily enough I may as well go down that route.

Any advice gratefully received.
Old 13 February 2006, 11:13 PM
StiX
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Depends on if you want to retain standard or not.

If so, yes you could probably get hold of a standard downpipe for not a lot.

If you want more power, quicker spool up etc. then decat the downpipe.

For peace of mind, get a freer flowing sports cat downpipe. Scoobyworld are doing a Ninja version for 299. Passes the MOT on its own, you can dump the centre cat.

Or, if you are willing to risk it, just get a normal decat downpipe for about 180, and hope the loophole that worked for me is still there (unsure about this tho - read somewhere may no longer be a loophole).