Notices

WHAT IS 99 RON ??

Search this Thread

Old 10 July 2005, 04:04 PM
chucky egg
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WHAT IS 99 RON ??

Greetings! A Scooby Newbie here, and a woman at that. So could someone fill me in on what this is?? I've sussed that only a few petrol stations supply it but what are the pros / cons of using it?! onder2:
Old 10 July 2005, 04:20 PM
DaveC1
Scooby Regular

If you can get it use it. I take it ur talking about the tesco stuff. Wish I could find some in stoke on trent
Old 10 July 2005, 04:49 PM
C 8HEP
Scooby Regular

tesco 99ron has been out month or so and is limited to 12 fuel stations throughout the uk. it should only be used on jap imports and use little booster than if you used optimax 98 ron and more booster to reach 100ron which is japanese fuel. it is also cheaper than optimax!!

Participating Stores

Bedford 1
Cheshunt Extra
Crawley Hazelwick
Gallions Reach Extra
Gillingham
Lakeside

Ramsgate Manston
Salisbury 2
Sandhurst
Sevenoaks Riverhead
Stevenage
Winchester

Last edited by C 8HEP; 10 July 2005 at 07:07 PM.
Old 10 July 2005, 10:15 PM
smiff99
Scooby Regular

I'm suprised there hasn't been more posts about this.

My STI V5 was mapped by BR to run on Optimax however I've recently fitted an APS TMIC which caused the KL to light up a little more than it did before fitting.

I tried a tank of the Tesco 99 RON this week to compare it.

The KL once again just flashed up the greens with no more yellows, even when giving it WOT !

I've also just vented the breathers to atmosphere which has helped even further.

Still have a remap booked in early Aug as I've yet to fit some headers.

Just wondering whether to have it mapped for the 99 RON now instead of the Optimax.

Jon.
Old 10 July 2005, 11:21 PM
C 8HEP
Scooby Regular