Crankshaft Pully fell off!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05 November 2004, 09:47 PM
brocks
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Crankshaft Pully fell off!!!

Bugger bugger bugger. Where do I start?
Driving home pulled up at lights , when I moved off, no power steering. Voltmeter also dropped like stone, so I thought I had snapped a belt or something. Got the car home (only 300yards or so) and had a look under the bonnet. Now I'm not a mechanic so dont know what I expected to see, but the big pulley bit lying at an angel with the retaining bolt able to be lifted out by hand did'nt look good!
Phoned the dealer who sold me the car 11 months ago and told him what had happened ( MY99 uk 2000 turbo) and got it on a low loader to his workshop.
Went and bought the new pulley as the keyway on the crank had smoothed my pulley, £115 quid!!!!!
What I wish to know is the implications of this before I accept the car back as it is still under dealer warranty, and the car was pre MOT serviced by him 9 days ago!!
As far as I know they are replacing the crankshaft keyway , the pulley and replacing the timing belt, will this sort the problem ??

My god thats the longest post I have ever typed!
Old 05 November 2004, 11:18 PM
little'un
Scooby Regular

i would be looking VERY closely at the crank to make sure it had not damaged / opened up the keyway for the woodruff key......
Expensive job to repair the crank if it's damaged
Old 06 November 2004, 12:23 AM
scoobyboy
Scooby Regular

agree with what little'un said the ones i have seen have usually done some damage to the crank as well as the pully chatters as it comes loose to the point where it spins.
Old 06 November 2004, 12:53 AM
MAFFA
Scooby Regular

Location: Down South to Ooop North to Back Down South again!!
Smile