Smoke

Search this Thread

Old 25 February 2004, 03:53 PM
Akka
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smoke

Hi

I’m a Scoob noob and have recently purchased a 95 WRX. I have just read a post about the guy with the melted piston and poor rebuild. You guys really know your stuff and I would appreciate it, if you have time, to answer a question of mine?

When my car is driven for a long time (e.g 1 hour) a small amount of smoke drifts out from the offside bonnet vent which is definitely not steam (as it smells). Before I bought the car the salesman told me there was a power steering leak? And that it would be fixed when I took it away (fixed by tightening the clip). I have read various posts on Scooby net and have noticed that a common problem is that the rocker cover leaks. Is this true? And if so could this be the problem? Or do you think it could be something else? Apologies for my lack of mechanical knowledge and any help would be most appreciated.

Regards

Akka
Old 25 February 2004, 03:58 PM
markwild
Scooby Regular

My UK car developed a leak from the rocker cover and the oil drips onto the exhaust manifold at the O/S of the engine bay, causing smoke - I'm not sure if other leaks could cause a similar prob. though - Also, I thought that the bonnet vents were covered (inside) on WRXs, like UK cars - How is the smoke coming through> or is there a lot of it ? When mine first went, I had smoke come from the I/C intake for a while, but it eased off slightly (when I did), until I had it fixed.....

Mark
PS _ Wouldn't class myself as 'knows my stuff' but I have experienced this gasket leak, so thought I'd add my 2peneth ...

Last edited by markwild; 25 February 2004 at 04:00 PM.
Old 25 February 2004, 09:19 PM
Silverman
Scooby Regular

Had the same problem after the car went in for a RR set up. It was the rocker gasket, cost about £ 60.00 to fit. All the same symptoms as you discribed.
Old 26 February 2004, 12:43 AM
manckster
Scooby Newbie

Unhappy