Notices

Overboosting???

Search this Thread

Old 10 February 2003, 03:24 PM
The_Judge
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good afternoon! I'm still new to this, so don't rely too heavily on my comments...

They did not find any fault with it, but told me that it could be overboosting.
A slight contradiction there, me thinks. If it's overboosting, then that is a fault. Surely it would have shown up on their diagnostic equipment...?

The synptom was the car losing all its power at about on throttle at 4000rpm upwards, generally in 3rd or higher gears.
For those symptoms, overboost is a reasonable assumption, I would have thought. Or at least something that could trigger fuel cut.

I posted earlier, and was told it was probably a failed lamba sensor, but according to the dealer, the lamba, MAF, all the sensors are working just fine.
I wouldn't have thought the symptoms you have described would be synonymous with lambda failure symptoms. When you boot it, the car goes into open-loop mode, and the lambda sensor ain't doing a great deal. Your MAF and engine maps take over. Do you have any other symptoms that could indicate MAF problems?

They even took it for a on road test with the equipment.
Were they able to recreate the problem?

The only engine mods I have at the moment is decat centre section and backbox, plus K&N induction kit, and a Forge DV.
So you don't have a manual boost controller or bleed valve? And you haven't modified the restrictor in the pipe between the turbo and the wastegate? Are all the pipes OK?

Surely it wouldn't have any overboost at this level of mods?
You wouldn't have thought so! But then there's a difference between a fault that you could have influenced with modifications, and a fault that's "naturally occurring". So in the case of the latter, in theory, overboost could occur at any time.