Notices

Sensible Mods???

Search this Thread

Old 07 February 2003, 08:22 AM
beano
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I'm toying with the idea of keeping my MY99 5 door turbo, rather than purchasing the new 03 facelift.

The car is totally standard, as I never wanted to invalidate it's warranty.

So can any one offer me a sensible solution to increasing my low/mid range torque without comrpimising the running of the car, as I'm no mechanic!

Is it worth looking at the PPP at £1600 or are there better, cheaper alternatives?

I'm not worried about my 1/4 mile time or lap time around a track, just want to increase the fun factor for the weekend thrash!

Thanks.
Old 07 February 2003, 02:09 PM
beano
Scooby Regular

does anyone have any idea's on this?

Spoke to the dealer, PPP for MY99 = £1995 for 245bhp.

Would Ecutek and exhaust system (Scoobysport/magnex) offer better performance and price without any detrimental effects on the engine.

Could someone please enlighten me!!!!
Old 07 February 2003, 02:23 PM
RB5320
Scooby Regular

I am no expert at all but as there are no other comments so far, I previously had a standard MY99, which I have replaced with an RB5 WR (basically a normal MY99 with PPP). The PPP'd car is noticably faster, much more torque, mid range is very strong. So, as a package the PPP works very well. However, its main advantage is in maintaining the warranty. If this is no longer a consideration you would almost certainly get better results for considerably less money elsewhere, for example Ecutek plus exhaust.

Steve
Old 07 February 2003, 02:46 PM
Impret-Sir
Scooby Regular

I fitted a Tek2 EcuTek ECU, takes about 15 minutes in total,to my MY00 turbo and the results were very good. And I havent fitted an uprated zorst yet either! If you do both I expect you will be well pleased, and have lots of spare cash from your budget left over.
Old 07 February 2003, 02:52 PM
Matt Churchill
Scooby Regular