Notices

Teach me about hesitation!

Search this Thread

Old 14 January 2003, 10:51 AM
Gridlock Mikey
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink

OK here goes. I think i know what it is, or the symptoms anyway. I don't think that my car suffers from it, but here is my take on it. As you all know, i'm no expert but i do like laymans explainations.

Most common in MY99-00 models
When depressing the accelerator, the car actually feels like it looses power for a moment before picking up
Not to be confused with turbo lag because with hesitation, the engine revs do not rise in proportion to throttle movement.
About right?

I've had a "strange" thing with my car (MY00) about a year ago. I held the car at about 4,000 revs in 2nd round a large roundabout because I knew the exit road i was due to take was wide and had a "novelty" camber in it. As i was applying the power and straightening up for the yump, the power just stopped increasing. It didnt stop totally and it wasn't the rev limiter, it was almost as if the car had got comfy at 4k revs in second and didn't want to do anything else. I changed to 3rd all was well, at the next island, tried it again, this time it was a much smaller island so probably 4k in 2nd for about 2-3- secs. No problems since.
For the benefit of Saxoboy, the tank was full cos it was the island straight after a petrol station.
Was that hestitation?
So what is it, anyone know for sure or is it one of those "feeling" things?

Mikey
Old 14 January 2003, 01:21 PM
SiPie
Scooby Regular

Smile

Dunno Mikey... but my my99 likes to this on occasions too [img]images/smilies/mad.gif[/img] .....

Just one of it's many habits IMO
Old 14 January 2003, 01:38 PM
STi wanna Subaru
Scooby Regular