Notices

Intake/inlet hoses/pipes help needed.

Search this Thread

Old 02 January 2016, 11:59 PM
Evansawd
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intake/inlet hoses/pipes help needed.

Am going to sound like a complete noob here but after hours of googling have found nothing.

Have just purchased a cheap wrx v3 96 ej20. Was cheap for a reason but managed to get everything running fine. However on removing some of the intake and tmic to access other parts that needed doing I have noticed a very complex system or intake and turbo pipes/hoses and I'll admit I'm completely confused as to what goes where. I will take and upload some pictures tomorrow but wondered if anyone ever did write the "how to" on the inlet pipe install. It's running the original plenum but aftermarket silicone turbo pipe and a series of t pieces and god knows what.
I was hoping in time to upgrade intake and so need to figure out what I've got going where.

Cheers for any reply in advance.

Mark
Old 03 January 2016, 01:38 PM
Evansawd
Scooby Regular

Pictures of the problem. The one shows a snapped u bend hose but where does it connect x

Here is the broken pipe.
Old 03 January 2016, 03:48 PM
edsel
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wow! Was the previous owner a caveman? Butcher maybe?

1st pic: The Hard plastic tube is a breather and goes into the hole on black inlet hose, secured by the jubilee clip. The dump valve goes into the other hole. Difficult to tell from the pic but it appears that there is a hose going into this hole?

2nd & 3rd pic: Boost solenoid vacuum pipe possibly? It looks a bit of a mess under there, possible aftermarket parts/modifications. Looks like it was installed with a knife and fork and parts from B&Q.

The last pic with the broken pipe; That is the fuel pressure regulator. IRC it returns to the fuel rail on a standard engine.
Old 03 January 2016, 03:56 PM
Evansawd
Scooby Regular