Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

noise from......gearbox......???

Search this Thread

Old 13 May 2009, 08:14 PM
nitrosgti-r
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noise from......gearbox......???

hi all. im new to the scooby but i have a 98 wagon ppp and it just gone past 100k miles. Its a uk car.

The problem i have is that i have a strange sort of wurring/wineing noise comming from under the car. Im thinking gearbox or maybe thrust bearing as the clutch is relatively new having been sorted by the previous owner. I can hear the noise if i put my foot down in all gears but goes when i put the clutch in so rules out wheel bearings etc

Also, and this could be related, if i take a corner hard (ish) on part throttle i can hear a noise that almost sounds like something sliding from one end of the dash to the other but its comming from engine bulkhead area? Now please correct me if im wrong but i was thinking it could be the oil being transfered for the 4wd system under torque?? Im probably miles out but id like some advice so if you have any ideas i would be greatfull to hear them?

Thanks
Old 14 May 2009, 06:44 PM
nitrosgti-r
Scooby Newbie

Anyone?
Old 18 May 2009, 10:27 AM
nitrosgti-r
Scooby Newbie

Default ffs

ANYONE???????????????????????????????????????????? ?????????????????????
Old 18 May 2009, 11:53 AM
OBXR Rick
Scooby Newbie

does the gearbox, jump out of gear? does the gearbox whine if you keep your hand on the gear stick, mine whines but now keeps jumping out of 4th, think its the sink
Old 18 May 2009, 08:01 PM
nitrosgti-r
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by OBXR Rick
does the gearbox, jump out of gear? does the gearbox whine if you keep your hand on the gear stick, mine whines but now keeps jumping out of 4th, think its the sink
Hi mate, thanks for your reply

Yes it does whine if i put pressure on the gear stick in the direction of the gear its in but it doesnt jump out of gear...... yet.