Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Starting difficulty AGAIN... after select monitor says all is o.k

Search this Thread

Old 21 December 2001, 12:45 PM
StevieB
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Suffered from an intermitant starting problem a month or so ago. Had the car put on a select monitor which came up clear for both history and present modes, but the ecu was reset anyway and all was well for about 6 weeks. This week I’m having difficulties getting the car to fire although the engine is cranking over as normal.

Anyone able to make some suggestions which the select monitor doesn’t check.... originally I suspected one of crank/temp sensors. Plugs maybe ?? Cr@p fuel ??.... I’m guessing.........

Steve
Old 21 December 2001, 03:14 PM
HHxx
Scooby Regular

Exclamation

I'm no expert but you could just try a different crank sensor, the ecu may not note that the sensor is faulty. Just a thought.

H
Old 23 December 2001, 09:55 PM
StevieB
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

H,

Expensive, easy to do ??? I am a bit concerned its one of those things which is going to be difficult to pin point, especially when the select monitor says all is o.k with the items it checks. Not that i doubt the dealer network, but an intermitant problem does leave myself exposed a little to unnecessary work being carried out, let alone mechanics guessing and the car going back in again.

Wouldnt start twice today for a while and only did after repeated attempts with foot to the floor on the accelerator. Come on everyone, any ideas?, I cant be the only person whose scoob has had starting problems without being diagnosed on a select monitor..... am I ?? ! Would be good to take the car in with a armed with a little more info.

Steve
Old 23 December 2001, 09:59 PM
T-uk
Scooby Regular

you should not be touching the accelerator on start up.

[Edited by T-uk - 12/23/2001 9:59:44 PM]
Old 23 December 2001, 10:08 PM
StevieB
Scooby Regular

Question

T-uk,