Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

de-cat on sti8 ppp

Search this Thread

Old 08 September 2004, 02:51 PM
prodriveuk
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question de-cat on sti8 ppp

Has anyone done a de-cat on their sti8 ppp,and what sort of difference noticed?

Any other work required for the mod to run smoothly?...eg remap.

any answers much appreciated.
Old 08 September 2004, 03:20 PM
The Fixer
Scooby Regular

Remap without doubt, kiss goodbye to your warranty though.
Old 08 September 2004, 07:01 PM
Sti_Lad
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by prodriveuk
Has anyone done a de-cat on their sti8 ppp,and what sort of difference noticed?

Any other work required for the mod to run smoothly?...eg remap.

any answers much appreciated.
I have been running for about 10 months a My03 Sti with ppp and Haywood and scott decat and rear resonator section.

Managed 318 Bhp and 310 Ft lb at G force earlier this year.
Boost hunts a little but doesnt peak to anything bad.
It runs fine, no cel light and no adverse affects according to my SECS.

just my experience anyway!

I am trying to arrange remapping with pat along with a few mates
Old 08 September 2004, 11:04 PM
WRX_Rich
Scooby Regular

doesn't the ppp put a sports cat in the dp any way

personnaly I wouldn't waste the warranty for a few bhp

ecu tek made a big difference to my my02 wrx
Old 08 September 2004, 11:22 PM
prodriveuk
Scooby Regular

thanks for your comments guys, it seems a remap is the only option and goodbye warranty!

Is it true that a remap by using ecu-tek software the dealers can't see it? as told by the guys at TSL. and the warranty stays intact?
Old 08 September 2004, 11:30 PM
WRX_Rich
Scooby Regular

lol, they would say that
- ask them to put it in writing

on big warranty claims i.e blown engine your local garage will have to pass the claim on to subaru ( because of course they would go streight ahead and fix it, money in their pocket)