Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

£2500 for an engine?

Search this Thread

Old 08 July 2004, 08:25 PM
dannytwo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default £2500 for an engine?

the big end has gone on my forester turbo s/tb,just rang grade A subaru to see what they had in. the guy said that they had a sti version 4 engine that would drop stright in,in exchange for my engine and £2500.

the question is

will it just drop in? personally i dont think it will

what is a version 4?

and does this seem like a good price?

i was thinking of upgrading now this has happened,the forester was running at about 260bhp,so would this sti engine give me much more?

sorry about it sounding a little vage,as im not that technically minded

cheers guys

dannytwo
Old 08 July 2004, 08:50 PM
APIDavid
Former Sponsor
Support Scoobynet!
Support Scoobynet!Support Scoobynet!

Location: @Junc 12, M40 Warwicksh; 01926 614522 CV33 9PL -Use 9GX for Satnav. South Mids Alcatek ECu dealer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Dannytwo, What year is your Forester? That will determine whether the STi 4 engine will fit.

There won't be any power benefit until you get the ECU remapped which, I think I'm correct in saying, will require a piggyback or 'scoobyecu' type upgrade to be able to achieve.

There are better [ more powerful ] cams in the STi engine, but the computer has to know that there are better parts in the engine and can't figure it out for itself. The power comes from the ECU and the Turbo and your turbo will be a tiddly little TD04 which is about 1/2 teaspoon size. [ Not derogatory just a fact ] The STi 4 engine will be better but you'll need to spend quite a bit more to see the benefit.

A fully rebuilt engine from us for your car will be no more than £1695.00 plus VAT no matter what year it is.

If I can help give me a call.

David API Engines / API Impreza
Old 08 July 2004, 09:04 PM
dannytwo
Scooby Regular

the year is my97