Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Clutch toast after 6k?!

Search this Thread

Old 04 June 2003, 05:08 PM
s-man
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry

Right - need some opinions on a rather worrying experience in my MY95 UK turbo today.

Had a replacement clutch done about 6-8k ago at a reputable garage - I supplied clutch kit (Blueprint brand) and they did the flywheel skim and fitting etc...still came to a tidy 500 squid or so but anyway...

I've been treating the car with kid gloves for the last 6 months as I needed to get other things sorted (steering rack to name one) so I've never done any of the now legendary 3-6k clutch dumps or sidesteps that I read about so much on here. The car has basically been driven gently and thats what makes todays events even more annoying.

I pulled up to some traffic lights waited patiently and when I saw there was nothing coming the other way I decided I was going to give it a 'burn' and drop the clutch at 3k to see what it would do... To cut a long story short: In 1st pulling away the rev counter raced round to 7k but I didnt move much at all...2nd and the same story ...bang! needle round to 7k and going about 40mph! Clutch slipping like a **** in other words!! I did get the nasty smell everyone always mentions as well..just no speed as a consolation

Obviously I am a bit more than p1ssed (although I'm glad it didn't happen for the first time on the 1/4 at Crail but still!). Can anyone suggest any mitigating circumstances for this happening? The car has a scoobyecu and a part decat so not serious power but a bit more than a boggo Uk but I was told the blueprint stuff is as good as oem and is seen in Sti's etc so what has happened to my 6 month old clutch??

It has got me thinking as well - when I first got the car back from the garage I was surprised that the bite point was still relatively high with the brand new clutch in but I didnt think too much about it after...maybe I should have?