Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

More power from my UK Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 27 June 2002, 07:00 PM
JingleZDJ
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I know that there have probably been alot of discussion about this, but I am new to the Scooby domain, having got this MY98 UK Turbo in January this year.

I would like to know how I can get my Impreza to 270+ BHP, what mods do I need, who should I speak to etc.

I have read about the Prodrive Upgrade, is it worth it? Or is there better out there?

Any help would be great.
Old 27 June 2002, 07:33 PM
scottdg
Scooby Regular

ITG panel filter or an induction kit, K&N 57i is good.

Full de-cat exhaust system - scooby sport, power engineering, magnex, performance exhausts.net etc etc

ECUTEK - Tek 2 ecu, Link ecu etc, etc

Dawes

Front mounted intercooler

Uprated hoses - samco

The list goes on, and I'm sure others on here will add to my ramblings.

Try looking at www.powerengineering.co.uk
www.scoobysport.co.uk
www.grahamgoode.co.uk
www.tsl-motorsport.co.uk

etc, etc

Hope this helps. Oh and remember to uprate the brakes -
Old 27 June 2002, 08:07 PM
Richard Curtis
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

Hi,

I have just had some work done on MY97 to improve performance, its probably the same engine type as yours (phase 1) so results should be comparable.

First had a decat exhaust system + high flow replacement air filter element running on SUL. (small noticeable improvement)

Secondly fitted a Dawes and set the boost to a safe 15PSI (any more than that on a standard ECU and you risk fuel cut on MY97/98 and possible fuel mixture problems. (another small noticeable improvement, quicker spool up)

Lastly - just had a unichip fitted and upped the boost with the dawes to 17~18PSI. (this has given the biggest noticeable improvement)