Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Exchange Server

Search this Thread

Old 06 March 2008, 04:30 PM
jowl
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exchange Server

Hello fellow geeks

I've got a company that has wants to be able to 'dial in' to their office on the road and also to be able to access their e-mails on the go. They want their e-mails to be stored centrally so they can access from anywhere.

They have asked me if I can set this up and also run exchange. Now I have put fileservers in before, based on Win2k and Win2k3 - most of it self taught (so I'm sure I've nto done everything by the book).

I am pretty happy to configure a fileserver and setup VPN. I've never installed or configured an Exchange server before. It is something that is fairly straight forward for a technical person?

I'm keen to take on the work but don't want to find we've bitten off more than we can chew! Ideally, I'd like to try out a system virtually first using VMware - is this possible ?
Old 06 March 2008, 04:36 PM
David_Wallis
Scooby Regular

Location: Leeds - It was 562.4bhp@28psi on Optimax, How much closer to 600 with race fuel and a bigger turbo?
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you want to use exhange 2007 you could download a vhd with it preconfigured from ms.. www.microsoft.com/vhd
Old 06 March 2008, 04:42 PM
jowl
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the link. Will look into it.
Old 06 March 2008, 05:12 PM
SwissTony
Scooby Regular

Received 12 Likes on 3 Posts

take out the headache and go for a fully managed hosted service
Old 06 March 2008, 05:28 PM
jowl
Scooby Regular

I've briefly seen this mentioned SwissTony. Does that basically mean a company will take care of your e-mail - you just log into their server and download what you need?