Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Setting up DNS server on Win2k Server

Search this Thread

Old 18 January 2007, 12:46 AM
spectrum48k
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Setting up DNS server on Win2k Server

The company I work for is steadily growing and we've added a 2nd server to the LAN of 20 workstations. I have very little experience with servers and everything has been fine, apart from a few small issues.

The original server, server#1, uses Win2k Server OS and is used for DHCP and DNS, as well as fileserver stuff. Its 192.168.0.1

The new server, server#2, is Win2k3 and is simply used to run a bespoke database app we had written. 5 clients connect to this server to use the app. Its 192.168.0.2

With the introduction of this 2nd server, I'm wondering if we're still using the right strategy. Perhaps we could utilise this new server to help out the original server. eg. Can it help out with DNS requests on the LAN ?

eg. the original server is the primary DNS server on the LAN. If it can't resolve, it passes the job onto an external DNS server at our ISP.

Server#1 DNS properties are setup as follows

--------------------
Listen on:
All IP addresses (not ticked)
Only the following IP addresses (ticked)

--------------------
Enable Forwarders:

--------------------
DNS Server Options:
Disable Recursion (not ticked)
BIND Secondaries (ticked)
Fail on load if bad zone data (not ticked)
Enable round robin (ticked)
Enable netmask ordering (ticked)
Secure cache against pollutin (ticked)
--------------------
Name checking: Multibyte UTFB
Load zone data on startup: From active directoruy & registry
Enable automatic scaveging of stale records (not ticked)
--------------------

Can some kind soul, give me some insight as to whether we're ok with these settings ?
Old 18 January 2007, 01:36 AM
WRX_Rich