Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Mac Question : iBook vs PowerBook

Search this Thread

Old 31 December 2003, 05:24 PM
scoob_dood
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Not knowing much about Macs, and trying to make sure that my girlfriend makes the right decision over her new purchase I am looking for some advice!

The iBook 12" G4 800MHz
12-inch TFT Display
800MHz PowerPC G4
256K L2 cache (at 800MHz)
256MB DDR266 memory
30GB Ultra ATA drive
DVD/CD-RW drive

PowerBook 12" G4 1GHz
12.1-inch TFT Display
1GHz PowerPC G4
256MB DDR266 SDRAM
40GB Ultra ATA/100
DVD/CD-RW Drive
AirPort Extreme Ready

Is there really much between them, and is it worth the extra £400+ ?

- Jon
Old 31 December 2003, 05:36 PM
GaryK
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Jon,

Well being a Mac newbie I looked into it and bought a G4 867Mhz 12" powerbook. If I remember correctly the L2 cache on an ibook is half that of a powerbook, an Ibook doesnt havent bluetooth and as you mentioned an ibook isnt airport ready, these arent big things and not sure they will make a huge difference to you.

What you may not know is apple sell refub stock every wednesday upto 45% off list, (link from the main shop site) so you could get a 867mhz with 35% off and I think I was quoted £844 inc vat and delivery, you have to be in there quick though! These are just returned machines with probably a scratch or two but still have full 12 month apple warranty.

One other thing having used pre-DOS/DOS/WinXXXX machines for 20 years the Mac rocks, totally different mindset needed but cool anyway!

Gary
Old 31 December 2003, 05:39 PM
scoob_dood
Scooby Regular

Cheers for that - I would still question the extra £400+ but will look at the refurb option!