Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Is now a bad time to go contracting ?

Search this Thread

Old 11 May 2003, 06:50 PM
stu200
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I'm currently a Java lead developer at a small software house in the North that's bucking the general downward trend in the industry and has got more work on over the next 6-12 months than we have people to do it.

However, I've been there for over 5 years and have done just about as much as I can without becoming management, which is NOT something I want to be doing. As well as general restlessness about the job, things have changed for me personally, and I'm no longer really tied to the company, or the area. In addition, I sold my apartment last year and am currently renting on one month's notice, so I'm not even tied down there either.

I'm aware that the industry is a "bit flat" at the moment, but reckon I'm ready to take a punt and just go for it.

However, last time I looked into contracting the market was bouyant and IR35 was still a way off. Are umbrella companies the way to go, or do you effectively tie yourself to an agency for convenience ?

What are your thoughts in general ? Am I mad to even consider it at the minute ? How do I find a good accountant ? What do you do for an address when you're effectively of "no fixed abode" ?
Old 12 May 2003, 08:47 AM
MarkO
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Contracting's not particularly wise at the moment, 'cos there ain't a lot of work out there. Having said that, there ain't a lot of work out there if you're permie, either.