Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Is the contract market dead or in a coma ?

Search this Thread

Old 15 January 2003, 11:23 AM
Devil's Refugee
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Would appreciate some worldly opinions from long term Cons and Agency bods, especially in the Scottish areas.

Relatively new (2 years) to contracting (BA/BPR by trade) and so far managed to stay alive with a couple of long term contracts and extensions, but I've heard horror stories from agencies saying that most contractors have been twiddling their thumbs for a good 6-12 months
Everyone says it will pick up, but will it or is this decline expected to continue ?

I don't want to go perm again if I can help it, and jumping around from perm to contract and back and forth again doesn't look too good.
Old 15 January 2003, 11:35 AM
ozzy
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Although I'm a permy, our company deals soley with contractors. I did try contracting about 1.5yrs ago, but it was completely dead so after 3 months, I said **** this, I'm getting a proper job.

It's been pretty quiet here since then and we've just had to let a few people go purely because our clients (huge multi-nationals) are holding back on projects - they say it's due to the economy slow down

It's a vicious circle. Everyone gets told it's a slowdown, so they do just that, which then causes it to slow down even further. It's not like our clients don't have the finances our needs for projects. Large companies don't seem to realise (or want to take the risk) that they have the power to decide if it's a slow-down or not.

Stefan
Old 15 January 2003, 12:19 PM
Jodster
Scooby Regular

Recently went perm after being a 'tractor for 12 years. There are contracts out there but rates are low due to the surplus of "on the bench" contractors.