Notices
Car Care Discussion on how to keep your pride and joy looking at it's best.

maybe a machine polisher?

Search this Thread

Old 09 May 2007, 05:28 AM
chocolate_o_brian
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default maybe a machine polisher?

right im not over religious when i wash my car, but i have a good full bucket of different products that i use when she gets a good going over. thing is afterwards, my scoob still has swirl marks. i was wondering if a machine polisher may get rid of the density of them. im no pro detailer, but id like my car a little less swirl-less.

heres a typical wash etc for my car.

rinse top of car inc. roof, bonnet, front/rear screens and spoiler with hose. then wash using two bucket method with autoglym car shampoo. i use a mircofibre sponge, very good to be honest.

rinse the top with hose and wipe down with meguiars microfibre chamois (not the leather ones).

i repeat this for each side. i do it in sections to stop the drip marks if the suns on the car when washing.

i then rinse the wheels with hose, spray autoglym wheel cleaner, rub with a sponge, and hose off. wheels are left to drip dry.

then go round the black bits with black in a flash and buff off. i do this first incase it gets on the paintwork.

then i apply a coat of autoglym super resin polish to the whole car with a clean cotton cloth, and follow my way round the car with a microfibre cloth to buff off with.

then do the windowns inside and out with autoglym glass cleaner, and sometimes the outsides with the super resin polish (not the windscreen obviously)

do the backbox with autoglym metal polish.

wheels are usually left alone as i cant seem to polish them without them looking patchy... ideas?

anywho am i doing something wrong. all this will take around 6 hours if im really into it, and all the cloths i use are always clean and washed. if somethings looking raggy i replace it.