High Performance Cheap Tyre suggestions please

Search this Thread

Old 23 September 2011, 07:31 PM
justy75
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Performance Cheap Tyre suggestions please

Hi,

Having bid quite a bit more than I wanted to spend on a second set of alloys, I now have a reduced budget for tyres. They are for all year round general road use, doing probably no more than 5000 miles a year.

I am an experienced driver and have always purchased good reputable tyres, but as I drive more like an old man rather than a boy racer, I am now in a dilemma as to what tyres to buy. Having owned Pzeros, Pilot Sports, SP Sports, all of which I have not been impressed with, the only top brand stuff that I have thought were worth the money were the Sport Contacts and the Nokian ZG2.
I am well aware of all the popular tyres and brands, but what I am asking is does anybody have any feedback, good or bad on these:

GT Radial Champiro HPY
Nexen N8000
Syron Race 1

Alternatives? I have heard relatively good things about Matador as they are owned by Continental and share similar technologies.

Key things im looking for:
Price, Grip, Low road noise.

Thanks in advance.
Old 23 September 2011, 07:57 PM
RetroMk1
Scooby Regular

Cant say i've used any of them, but i can say i was very impressed with falken fk452 which i have used on a evo and scooby, even a little track use.

four 18" 225 40 for £300 fitted.

Or for £400 Toyo T1R's

cheaper if your running 17's
Old 23 September 2011, 07:59 PM
wilbo
Scooby Regular

Falken ZE912s are supposed to be similar to the 452 and a bit cheaper still.
Old 24 September 2011, 12:59 AM
justy75
Scooby Newbie

Thanks for the feedback on the Falkens.

I forgot to mention size wise im looking for at a minimum 235 40 18s, or possibly 245 40 18s. The very cheapest ive found 452s for is 4 for £450 fitted, in 235. These were my original choice but still as the budget went on the wheels, need to find something suitable, but cheaper.