Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Classic Wagon Performance Upgrades??

Search this Thread

Old 12 October 2009, 01:17 PM
Slystav
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Classic Wagon Performance Upgrades??

Hi guys,

I'm a noob with scoobs and never fitted replacement brakes either. I bought a s/h 98 non-turbo wagon (don't know if UK or JDM - probably UK) and looking for some projects to improve it a little. I've given the car a full service and apart from the clutch still to do I thought the most worthwhile improvement would be to the brakes. I want to keep the cost and complexity as low as possible so no crazy stuff! As far as I know everything is bog standard, possibly 15" alloys? All I know about the brakes is there is a drum on the back (although I think there is a disc inside it??) and discs at the front. I COULD change the pads, that might help, but I've been in a few heart racing quick stops and I really don't think the brake system's any good. I thought I could upgrade something to make it better - but what?

BTW What are 2-pots, 4-pots etc and why are they called this?
Old 12 October 2009, 03:10 PM
Aztec Performance Ltd
Former Sponsor

"Pots" refers to the number of pistons in a caliper.

If you want to keep the costs low, fit some decent discs, pads, lines and fluid. The next step up would involve changing calipers and poss your wheels.
Old 12 October 2009, 08:15 PM
Slystav
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by BOB'5
"Pots" refers to the number of pistons in a caliper.

If you want to keep the costs low, fit some decent discs, pads, lines and fluid. The next step up would involve changing calipers and poss your wheels.