Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Brake Judder

Search this Thread

Old 16 April 2005, 05:05 PM
Catherine
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Judder

Have noticed over the last 1,000 miles that the brakes on the Legacy are not as good as I would have expected from a car capable of 150 miles an hour. Particularly of late I am noticing that there is quite a lot of brake judder. which is noticable through the steering wheel, drivers hands and indeed through both front seats.

Has anyone had this and if so what was the cause? The car is going in for the corrosion I mentioned earlier this week but I don't want to look an ar$e if it is common.
Old 16 April 2005, 05:30 PM
Luminous
Scooby Regular

I'm no mechanic, there can be many reasons for brake judder. The most common are worn brake pads and /or warped discs. Mention the problem when the car is in, ask them to check out the brakes and see what they have to say.

There are no cures to brake judder without replacement parts. Some people have tried getting their discs skimmed, but its not worth it imo.

If you brakes are quite new, and you have managed to warp them you need to think about how you managed that. If you were just silly and parked the car up with very hot brakes then you will have to remember not to do that again.
Old 16 April 2005, 08:22 PM
Catherine
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Luminous
I'm no mechanic, there can be many reasons for brake judder. The most common are worn brake pads and /or warped discs. Mention the problem when the car is in, ask them to check out the brakes and see what they have to say.

There are no cures to brake judder without replacement parts. Some people have tried getting their discs skimmed, but its not worth it imo.

If you brakes are quite new, and you have managed to warp them you need to think about how you managed that. If you were just silly and parked the car up with very hot brakes then you will have to remember not to do that again.