Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Largest Wheel/Tyre Combo for 5 Door is .... ?

Search this Thread

Old 13 February 2001, 09:56 AM
paulhoubart
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Gidday,

Scooby Newbie here, just purchased a MY94 WRX STI, jap import. Got a HKS exhaust, standard otherwise. Given that this is the 5 door / estate version, and that I've got the poxy standard 15 inch wheels, my question is .....

What is the biggest wheel / tyre combination I can go for, given that the car will probably have some fairly heavy loads ( wine from trips to Europe, etc.) in the back sometimes, and the last thing I want to do is have the back wheels catching. Any opinions on this ?

P.S. Why are the brakes so bad on this car, as well ?
Old 14 February 2001, 10:38 PM
GREEN SCOOBY
Scooby Regular

Exactly the same as the jap/uk saloons/coupes
(exept 22b).Mine has 17 inch chronos and 205/45/17 rubber(prodrive wheel and correct sizes)and i know of some one with 18's and if not mistaking 40 profile rubber.
Old 15 February 2001, 01:21 PM
NITO
Scooby Regular

Cool

Hi Paul,

I use Compomotive 18"x7.5" Split rims ET50 with Pirelli P7000 215/35/18 tyres. This is the biggest you can really get away with without needing any mods. The P1 uses 225/35/18 but I think they needed slight modding to the rear arches to fit this (I'm not sure on this though sinvce they also have a higher than 50 offset 52/53) They never ever catch and the car is lowered etc. You'll be fine with either 7x18 or 7.5x18 as long as the offset is 50+. Any lower offset and you will get scrubbing on the rear arches.

Nito
Old 15 February 2001, 01:36 PM
paulhoubart
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the help, guys. Much appreciated.