Sport General sport discussion

What about Gerrard on Naysmith????

Search this Thread

Old 24 December 2002, 12:22 AM
alanjack
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry

Gerrard should be made to sleep Wycliffe's missus (vigin ad) for the challenge on that poor lad. It was disgusting and you should be banned till next season[img]images/smilies/mad.gif[/img]
Old 24 December 2002, 01:57 AM
Little Miss WRX

As a referee myself, I am stunned at the reaction of the referee and linesmen of that match.
Old 24 December 2002, 09:15 AM
Redkop
Scooby Regular

alanjack - those sort of tackles go on every weekend in some game or another, you'd end up with no players, if you banned them all 'til the following season. It is only because Gerrard is a high profile player, that it is being highlighted so much. I don't condone two-footed tackles, but unfortunately they will continue to happen!

Old 24 December 2002, 10:50 AM
neilbbb
Scooby Regular

Wink

for once i agree with alan jack. that was a terrible tackle.

has he been having lessons from roy keane?
Old 24 December 2002, 11:14 AM
scoobyDAZZA
Scooby Regular

i am neither everton or liverpool but that tackle was disgraceful , he said on telly that he pulled out of it, yeah right, i think he will get a 3 game ban fot that, its a shame when you think he's probably englands best holding midfielder as well. just hope he don't pull silly stunts playing for england eh ?.
Old 24 December 2002, 12:34 PM
ash1
Scooby Regular

Why are people going OTT on Gerrard, what I can't understand is the FA only dishing out a small ban for a player who intentionally went out to damage a player for life and he openly admitted it (I call that GBH). Then said player makes loads of money because its published in his book....

Yes bad tackle, and the ref would have sent him off if either he or his assistant had seen it. He will be punished by videa evidence and a fine imposed - what more do you want ? rehab ?
Old 24 December 2002, 12:37 PM