ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Have I hurt my baby???

Search this Thread

Old 26 April 2001, 08:12 PM
Richard Askew
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

After a fairly spirited drive back from St Albans to Oxfordshire I think the beastie may be in trouble.......no real thrashing for her but some v high speeds 130mph (private dual carraigeway ) but about 3 miles from home these symptons started :
On boost in top and she suddenly stops accelerating for a split second and then carries on....then in third gear coming out of a roundabout the same happens......
It feels like fuel starvation/surge but she has nearly a full tank in her so it cant be......
I'm quite concerned so any help and opinions would be appreciated...
MY 97 Wagon
Standard
97 BP SUL all the time

Cheers amigos
Old 26 April 2001, 09:47 PM
EvilBevel
Scooby Regular

Richard,

IANAM (I am not a mechanic), but it does sound like you are just experiencing the "fuel cut" thingy. You may have opened her up a bit with spirited driving, and now boost gets a bit too high for the standard ECU.

Is it "face to windscreen" type of hesitation, or just splut-splut ?

On a related note: I still don't understand why an Impreza gets "lazy" after some normal driving, and needs a bit of trashing before it gets to max boost/performance ? Anyone know ?

Theo
Old 26 April 2001, 10:18 PM
Tim W
Scooby Regular

Rich,

It does sound like your suffering overboost and may be worth checking that there's no oil contamination in the hoses that run from the turbo to wastegate actuatior and wastegate actuator solenoid where the restrictors live... the ecu will momentarily cut bfueling if the boost is over 1.2 bar I think...curtainly did when I played with the restrictors on mine

Theo,