Sponsored by:

Hi and bug or classic?

Search this Thread

Old 11 October 2012, 11:01 AM
cfnteabag59
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi and bug or classic?

Hi I thought my first post should be a combination of introduction and question!

My name is Adam and I am an Army mechanic currently posted to Woodbridge in Suffolk and I am thinking about getting an Impreza Wagon. once I have my Land Rover back together again and sold I will have just under £2000 and looking around in my budget there are classic turbos and early bugeye wrx's. I was wondering what would people suggest, am I better going for a more expensive, and hopefully better condition classic or a bug from the lower end of the price bracket?

I am looking for a uk model, close to unmodified or some minor mods mainly for insurance reasons but also to convince the wife that it is a sensible family car!

Adam
Old 11 October 2012, 11:06 AM
d4vidh
Scooby Regular

Classic is more of a raw driving feel and the bugeye is more refined. Best bet is to go and see a few and see which you prefer the drive of. Bugs have issue with rusty front subframes and the classics suffer for rusty rear arches.
Old 11 October 2012, 11:11 AM
blackvenom
Scooby Regular

Hi mate, just up the road from you! I went classic as its the car I grew up wanting to have, rust in the back is an issue with most but it can be fixed with the right method.
Old 11 October 2012, 11:13 AM
d4vidh
Scooby Regular

Classic also comes in 2 flavours original and facelift.
Old 11 October 2012, 11:18 AM
cfnteabag59
Scooby Newbie