ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

classic wrx judders on full lock after gearbox change

Search this Thread

Old 16 August 2010, 12:23 AM
heednfactor
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default classic wrx judders on full lock after gearbox change

hello everybody complete forum newbie here, please help though i have just changed my wrx gear box and rear diff now when i turn on full lock the back wheels lock up a bit and judder, does any one know if when you bolt prop back to rear diff it has to go on a specific way, i have just spent the whole weekend fitting a new gearbox and diff and am very frustrated,
any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks mike
Old 16 August 2010, 01:45 AM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Welcome to the forum.

There isn't a "special" way to put the propshaft back on, it's as obvious as it looks so that is unlikely to be the explanation.

The one obvious thing that springs to mind that is reasonably consistent with these symptoms is the possibility of the rear diff final drive ratio being mismatched to the front diff and dropgears in the gearbox. Did you buy the box and diff as a complete set from a reputable source, and are you therefore certain they are compatible with each other and, just as importantly, working properly?

Might help us understand a bit more what might be going on here if we knew what exact type and model year your "WRX" is, and also why you were making this change in the first place. Did the old gearbox break, or...?
Old 16 August 2010, 06:12 PM
heednfactor
Scooby Newbie

hello splitpin thanks for your reply buddy, sorry for my lack of info,

here is some more detailed info, my car is a import 1993 subaru impreza WRX SALOON,