Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Handheld speed guns & the Law...............

Search this Thread

Old 19 February 2001, 06:12 PM
Gastro
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face

Doing 80(ish) along dual carriage way (I was overtaking) the other day - and there in the distance was a police car in the central reservation, officer pointing the dreaded 'gun' at me . I'm sure he was alone, and all he did was stare at me as I passed him....Wasnt stopped or anything......
Any ideas whether I can still receive a penalty points etc. or do I have to be served notice at the time of the offence in this type of scenario ??? Advice please.
Old 19 February 2001, 06:36 PM
steve McCulloch
Scooby Regular

I'm no expert - but I would expect they would have to stop you - at 80 mph you should be fine (as the limit is 70mph on most dual carriageways)

I've been twice on laser - both times I was stopped

Ever thought of purchasing a jammer?

(dont bother barraging me on the illegality of these things as they are not technically illegal - at the moment!)
Old 19 February 2001, 06:49 PM
jason b
Scooby Regular

You will not get any problem as you must be given a penalty on the spot by a hand held gun as they just take a speed reading and not your reg no. or any other details.
All hand held speed guns take aprrox 3 secs to calibrate so BREAK HARD people and you will not get any problems just hard looks but only if you get down to the speed limit within 3 secs.
regards
jason.
Old 19 February 2001, 07:46 PM
dik dangerous
Scooby Newbie

Exclamation

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Gastro:
<B>Doing 80(ish) along dual carriage way (I was overtaking) the other day - and there in the distance was a police car in the central reservation, officer pointing the dreaded 'gun' at me . I'm sure he was alone, and all he did was stare at me as I passed him....Wasnt stopped or anything......