New to Subaru ownership

Search this Thread

Old 17 April 2008, 10:31 PM
Harryr34
Scooby Regular

Received 30 Likes on 23 Posts
Default New to Subaru ownership

Hello,

I am new to Subaru ownership and wanted to ask some questions, i hope i don't offend anyone with my lack of knowledge on Imprezas
I have owned quite a few Honda Type Rs over the last four years and i fancied a change, I've picked up a 2004 Impreza STI Type UK. I need to arrange insurance so havn't really had a chance to bond with the car

1: How can i check if the car is fitted with the Prodrive performance pack?

2: Do you recommend i change the MAF sensor as i have read that it should be changed regularly on the classic but am not sure about the newage?

3: Do i prime the filter and disconnect the crank sensor after an oil change?

My Scooby:

Thankyou for your help
Harry

Last edited by Harryr34; 18 April 2008 at 05:52 AM.
Old 17 April 2008, 10:51 PM
nik52wrx
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi there, answers as follows:

1. Tell tale signs are, it should have came with a PPP certificate, back box will be stamped Prodrive, fuel pump sounds louder than standard (difficult one for you though) & mine had a sticker on the door cill stating PPP was fitted.
2. Never heard of this on Blobs.
3. PS Lewis will answer

Nik.

Originally Posted by Harryr34
Hello,

I am new to Subaru ownership and wanted to ask some questions, i hope i don't offend anyone with my lack of knowledge on Imprezas
I have owned quite a few Honda Type Rs over the last four years and i fancied a change, I've picked up a 2004 Impreza STI Type UK. I need to arrange insurance so havn't really had a chance to bond with the car

1: How can i check if the car is fitted with the Prodrive performance pack?

2: Do you recommend i change the MAF sensor as i have read that it should be changed regularly on the classic but am not sure about the newage?

3: Do i prime the filter and disconnect the crank sensor after an oil change?