Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just had my RA(95) Imported,would it be wise to have it remapped and set up by Andy

Search this Thread

Old 10 October 2007, 09:38 PM
Mr Brannen
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just had my RA(95) Imported,would it be wise to have it remapped and set up by Andy

Forrest before i let it loose on the streets , heard loads of horror stories about Jap fuel and oil being no good n that,must be a good idea to let him see it first,or am I just being paranoid
Old 10 October 2007, 09:46 PM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by Mr Brannen
Forrest before i let it loose on the streets , heard loads of horror stories about Jap fuel and oil being no good n that,must be a good idea to let him see it first,or am I just being paranoid
I'm not an expert on ECUs and compatibility with UK Fuel, but I think it would be wise to put V power in it and a) get Andy to listen to it with DET cans to make sure it's ok on the std map b) invest in a knocklink to look out for DET. C) if either say you need it, get a remap/Alternative ECU (Ecutek isn't available for your MY).

All the best.

Ns04
Old 10 October 2007, 09:48 PM
Terminator X
Owner of SNet

All the JDM classics should be mapped for UK fuel as a precaution. Upside is more power which can't be bad

TX.
Old 10 October 2007, 09:48 PM
Simon 69
Scooby Regular

'Jap fuel and oil'? Japanese cars are usually cared for far better than cars are here. The Japanese fuel is drained when the cars are loaded onto the boat.

A 1995 car will live quite happily on super unleaded: it uses what is essentially the same ECU as the then-current Prodrive Performance Pack ECU. Added to which, you cant simply 're-map' a Z4, or similar, ECU.

Simon
Old 10 October 2007, 10:42 PM
djquest
Scooby Regular

however if u did want it mapped, you would have two options.