Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Problems I Should Look For When Buying?.

Search this Thread

Old 16 September 2007, 05:02 PM
PLuKE
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problems I Should Look For When Buying?.

Hi.

I wanna pick all of your brains. Am looking at buying a Turbo model in the next few months and i have seen a few on Autotrader and the likes. But i want to know what problems i should look for?. What about cars that have done 80-100k is that far to many miles?. I have some mechanical background as i race motorbikes so i know bits and pieces. Any advice is welcome as am alittle new to cars.

Thanks!.

Luke
Old 16 September 2007, 05:18 PM
Myles
Scooby Regular

Pluke, can I expand on that a bit. I am also in the market for the newest of the classic shape, as I hear bad things about the bugeyes. What are the pitfalls, and what unexpected money ploughing does an owner have to do to keep them serviced etc.? Thread hijack over!

Hello all by the way!!
Old 16 September 2007, 05:20 PM
exvaux
Scooby Regular

depends what your budget is and what your after there are SOOOO many different models from the uk/wrx/sti etc,service history is important so you know whats been done and when.Each model has its ups and downsides but get a decent one you wont look back
Old 16 September 2007, 05:23 PM
drb5
Scooby Regular

Theres absolutely NOTHING wrong with the Bugeyes or newer, they just don't look as pretty as the Classic IMHO, BUT they have a MUCH better chassis to begin with and can thus use the power a lot better.

Also nothing wrong with quite a high mileage on the car, as long as it's properly serviced and you get it cheap enough.
Old 16 September 2007, 05:25 PM
turbomatt
Scooby Regular