ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Confessions on a BBS...

Search this Thread

Old 06 December 2000, 03:55 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

OK, so maybe sometimes we exceed the speed limit such as during an overtaking manouver to minimise the time exposed to danger.

However, given <A HREF=http://rsowners.iserver.net/ubb/Forum3/HTML/007119.html>this thread on the RS board</a>, when can a posting on a BBS be used in evidence against you?

It's a serious question.

Anyone got any thoughts?
Old 06 December 2000, 04:00 PM
AWD
Scooby Regular

Surely unless it is used as in a slander case, they cannot prove that you were not lying when you made the post. I'm sure people often boast on boards to try to impress others - so they can later say that it wasn't true.

I'm not a lawyer but this seems like common sense...
Old 06 December 2000, 04:01 PM
Subie Gal
Scooby Regular

Wink

threads on the BBS can be used against you in court.... i cant give any details... but TRUST me... (at least here in the states they can)

if you post it, write it - it can be used against you... I would never, ever brag or boast or post of illegal activities on a BBS... that's just about as smart as videotaping yourself doing something stupid... eventually the cops will get a hold of that tape... and BAM... you're a gonner...

j.
Old 06 December 2000, 04:02 PM
logiclee
Scooby Regular

Hope they loose their licence or grow up before they kill someone!!

My thoughts on allowing this sort of post on Scoobynet have just been posted on page two of
Old 06 December 2000, 04:03 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Bugger
Old 06 December 2000, 04:06 PM
DrEvil
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Well I suppose baring in mind the ip address of the host posting the comments is logged, it may be possible to prove the source of the imformation, would be pretty tricky to prove who was using the machine at that time (unless its situated in your home!)...

may be wrong...