Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

At what stage do you stop spending on a re-build? (standard)

Search this Thread

Old 12 December 2006, 05:24 PM
donny_daz
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default At what stage do you stop spending on a re-build? (standard)

I have a 1998 terzo 3 special edition with a knocking bottom end. At what stage should i stop spending?. Im wanting a standard engine putting back in that isnt gonna need a rebuld again for 30-50k. SO far ive been quoted for re grind on the crank, new shells, gaskets fluids etc etc. Im now thinking of new oil pump and clutch. Just wanted to no what you guys think as im no mechanic? The main thing is i want the engine to LAST ! ! !
Old 12 December 2006, 05:26 PM
The Chief
Scooby Regular

You cant regrind teh existing cranks (so i've been told)

this happened to me - i ended up getting an STi short block which is stronger.

have a trawl on here or fle-bay
Old 12 December 2006, 05:27 PM
timchump
Scooby Regular

I would have a word with David at api engines if i was you.

Welcome to the API website
Old 12 December 2006, 05:35 PM
donny_daz
Scooby Regular

Ive been quoted for re grind by an ex subaru mechanic
Old 12 December 2006, 06:07 PM
st3v3
Scooby Regular

Theres gonna be one or two people who say its fine,(pslewis for one)but its not,Speak to David at API,or Andy forrest or Zen they will give the facts not fiction.

Dont take my word for it, speak to a couple of experts,if only for the good info they will give you.
Old 12 December 2006, 09:35 PM
chief-long-shin
Scooby Regular

am i reading this wrong 30-50k for rebuild???
Old 12 December 2006, 09:55 PM
Nido
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by chief-long-shin
am i reading this wrong 30-50k for rebuild???
that isn't going to need rebuilding again in 30-50k miles
Old 12 December 2006, 11:27 PM
donny_daz
Scooby Regular