Sponsored by:

Twin turbos

Search this Thread

Old 02 August 2006, 07:21 PM
The Rig
Scooby Regular

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Twin turbos

my mate has a skyline, single turbo, he wants to go to the r34 twin turbo, we got yaking on how the 2 turbos work, i thought the 1st turbo was tiny and that gave you the quick turbo at low revs then the bigger 2nd turbo took over at high revs, he reckons the one turbo helps the spin up of the 2nd turbo to spin quicker at low revs ?

are we both wrong ?

cheers
Old 02 August 2006, 07:31 PM
Shardlow
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

im no expert, but i thought what you said was correct? smaller turbo that almost spins constantly to keep the larger turbo moving reducing lag! could be wrong but sounds right!
Old 02 August 2006, 07:42 PM
GC8
Scooby Regular

Some cars have sequential turbos with a small quick spooling turbine handing over to a larger turbine at higher revs (with an infuriating gap in the middle); this is intended to make the car more 'drivable'. Others have one turbo per bank of cylinders, like later 6-cylinder Porsche tubrocharged engines. The notion that the fist turbines job is to spool up the larger turbine is absolute bollocks!
Old 02 August 2006, 07:50 PM
edmy716
Scooby Regular

the gtr skyline has two turbos each feeding 3cylinders
or people put a mahassive single that feeds all 6
Old 02 August 2006, 07:56 PM
TimmyboyWRX
Scooby Regular

yeah the RX7 had the twin turbo setup sequentially, i.e the little one spooling first and the larger later on to reduce lag.

People to build those with single turbos too to increase power.

didnt realise the skyline had a seperate turbo for 3 cylinders, always assumed it was the same as the RX ,learn summit new everyday
Old 02 August 2006, 08:16 PM
4stringMike
Scooby Regular

I'm not sure about Skylines, but I had a Supra twin turbo for a while, which has two turbos of the same size.